Scooters are great for young drivers! In fact, scooters are a perfect first car for kids. They’re small and easy to operate, they don’t require any special licenses (like a motorcycle does) and they can help you practice your driving skills. Plus, they provide endless hours of fun.
That is, as long as you take the right steps when getting your kid started on a scooter. Let’s review the age restrictions for driving scooters so you can make sure your child gets the right guidance and training before taking their first ride.
How Old Do You Have to Be to Drive a Scooter?
The legal driving age for scooters in the United States is 16 years old. In some states, however, there are restrictions on what type of scooter you can drive. For example, in California, you must be 18 years old to drive a motorized scooter with an engine size larger than 50ccs. And in New York, you must have a driver’s license or learner’s permit to operate any type of motorized scooter.
So, while the legal driving age for scooters is 16 years old, it’s important to check your state’s laws before allowing your child to get behind the handlebars.
What Are the Laws and Licensing Regarding Electric Scooters?
In most states, you do not need a license to operate an electric scooter. However, there are a few exceptions. For example, in Florida, you must have a driver’s license or learner’s permit if you want to operate an electric scooter with a motor that is larger than 750 watts.
Age Limits for Driving a Scooter
Most scooter manufacturers recommend that riders be at least 8 years old before driving their product. However, this recommendation is not always followed. For example, the popular Razor scooters are recommended for ages 5 and up.
Licenses and Permits for Driving a Scooter
As we mentioned before, in most states, you do not need a license to operate an electric scooter. However, there are a few exceptions. For example, in Florida, you must have a driver’s license or learner’s permit if you want to operate an electric scooter with a motor that is larger than 750 watts.
Other states have different restrictions. For example, in California, you must be at least 18 years old to ride an electric scooter on the road. And in New York, you need a driver’s license, moped license, or motorcycle license to operate an electric scooter.
So, make sure to check your state’s laws  before you let your child take the reins on a scooter.
Safety Requirements for Driving a Scooter
In addition to following your state’s laws, there are also some general safety requirements you should keep in mind when letting your child drive a scooter.
First, make sure they always wear a helmet. Head injuries are the most common type of scooter injury, so it’s important to protect your child’s head at all times.
Second, teach them to always stay alert and be aware of their surroundings. This means no texting, talking on the phone, or listening to music while driving.
And finally, make sure they know how to properly operate the scooter before letting them ride it on their own. This means going over the controls and teaching them how to brake, turn and signal.
When Can My Child Start Driving a Scooter?
The best time for your child to start driving a scooter is when they are able to demonstrate the following skills:
- They can balance on the scooter and ride it without support.
- They can steer the scooter in a straight line.
- They can start and stop the scooter smoothly.
Your child should also be comfortable following basic traffic rules and understand the dangers of riding a scooter in traffic. If your child is able to meet all of these requirements, then they are likely ready to start driving a scooter.
Can a 13-Year-Old Ride an Electric Scooter?
In order to ride an electric scooter, a 13-year-old must be able to satisfy all of the standards of a conventional scooter driver. However, there are limitations on the kind of electric scooters that may be driven in some states.
Can a 10-Year-Old Drive an Electric Scooter?
No, a 10-year-old cannot drive an electric scooter. Scooter drivers in the United States must be at least 16 years old to get behind the wheel. The sort of scooter you may ride in various states is regulated.
Scooters are one of the most popular ways to get around once you reach adulthood. They’re great for short trips and can even be used as a car in some cases. However, they are also very popular among younger drivers and new license holders. With a car, scooter, or motorcycle license, driving is much more accessible than it once was. Nowadays, you don’t even have to be 21 years old to drive in many states.