Electric scooters are a great invention to scoot around without tiring your legs out, but they are, unfortunately, not always legal. They can be expensive, and no one wants to invest that money if it will end up earning you a ticket. You can avoid this if you understand the laws in every state, which our legal experts and pro riders have outlined below.
States Where Electric Scooters are Legal
Electric scooters are street legal in most states – 38 in fact. They are not street legal in 10 states, and the remaining states do not have clear electric scooter laws. Within the 38 states where people can ride electric scooters, there may be additional laws where it states that they are prohibited on highways and such.
Electric Scooter Laws By State + Requirements
The electric scooter laws in Alabama will vary depending on the city you’re in. Some cities allow for street riding while others limit them to sidewalk riding only. You may even be required to obtain a motorcycle license in certain cities, such as Birmingham.
In Alaska, you will need motorcycle licensing to ride them as they are classified as motor-driven cycles. The permit you need in Alaska will differ by age. Alaska also limits the wattage in the state to be no more than 750W.
Arizona is very relaxed on its e-scooter laws, as they are classified as bicycles. They should weigh less than 75 pounds, and if your scooter has handlebars and operates within 20 mph, then you won’t need additional licensing, insurance, or registration.
Although the state law mandates that scooters can reach a max speed of 20 mph, law enforcement generally does not permit them to travel at a speed limit greater than 15 mph.
The scooters should also be within 100 pounds to be street legal and you must be at least 16 years old to ride.
You are only allowed to ride your electric scooters on roads that have a 25 mph maximum speed limit at most. If you do ride your e-scooter onto public bike lanes and public roads, you cannot exceed a maximum speed of 15 mph. For your safety, the state also requires riders under 18 years of age to wear a helmet when riding these motor vehicles.
As long as you don’t go faster than 30 mph, electric scooters are legal to ride on any street. When on the road, e-scooters are required to abide by the same laws as bicycles and if you’re on the sidewalk, you cannot exceed 6 mph.
E-scooters in Connecticut need to follow identical laws as bicycles as well. Any rider under 16 must wear a helmet and you may not exceed a speed of 20 mph or be on sidewalks.
Delaware is a state that does not permit a scooter with an electric motor to be operated on sidewalks, streets, and of course, highways.
District of Columbia
E-scooters are not motor vehicles in the District of Columbia, which means a license, insurance, or registration are not needed. However, electric scooter riders must be at least 16 years old and sidewalk riding is not permitted.
You must be at least 16 years of age to ride motorized foot scooters in Florida, but no licensing is required. E-scooters should not exceed 30 mph and should abide by bicycle laws.
Riders in Georgia can operate electric scooters on bike paths, lanes, and roads under a 35 mph limit (although scooters should not be faster than 20 mph) and not exceed 100 pounds.
Hawaii does not seem to have a clearly outlined electric scooter legislation for the state. It doesn’t clearly allow or ban scooters, but if you do ride it, we would suggest going at a very slow speed, not riding it on large streets, and obeying normal traffic laws.
Following in Hawaii’s footsteps, Idaho also does not have any specific electric scooter laws by state, but riders can ride their e-scooters on sidewalks and streets and there is no helmet regulation.
Ilinois is attempting to classify e-scooters in the same category as bikes, which means they should obey the same rules. You will need a valid driver’s license  to ride an electric scooter if you are under 17, and your scooter should have front and rear lights for safety.
An electric scooter is permitted on bike paths, lanes, and streets in Indiana, but they are limited to a 100-pound frame and a max speed of 20 mph.
There are no clear laws that regulate scooters in Iowa as of yet. They are trying to pass a bill that states electric scooters may not exceed 100 pounds and 20 mph. If the bill passes, they will be classified in the same categories as bikes and be allowed to ride on sidewalks and bicycle paths.
E-scooters are legal in Kansas, but riders will need a valid driver’s license. They may not need to wear helmets, but they cannot ride e-scooters on the sidewalk and highway.
In Kentucky, electric scooters are similar to bicycles and do not require insurance or registration to operate.
Riders are required to wear helmets in Louisiana if they are under 17. You need to remain within the speed of 25 mph maximum, but you are permitted on streets, bike paths, and sidewalks.
Maine electric scooters cannot exceed 20 mph, and must have head and taillights along with reflectors for low-light riding. They will also need a license and the motorized scooter cannot have wheels larger than 10 inches in diameter and have a motor power greater than 750W.
Bikes and e-scooters in Maryland have identical laws and should not exceed 20 mph.
Massachusetts doesn’t seem to have laws for riding electric scooters, but they follow the state’s moped laws. In other words, riders need a valid car license and stay within a 20 mph limit at all times.
Interestingly, Michigan states that e-scooters are similar to electric skateboards and should not be faster than 25 mph or have a motor with more wattage than 2500W. You also need to have a white front light that can be seen from a distance of 500 ft and a rear reflector visible from a distance of 600 ft away.
Minnesota bans electric scooters from traveling faster than 15 mph and Minnesota electric scooters cannot have wheels that have a diameter of over 12 inches. Only those older than 12 can ride a motor scooter and those under 18 need to wear helmets.
As of now, Mississippi does not clearly state any specific laws that pertain to motorized scooters. Rather than referring to the electric scooter laws by state, our legal team suggests looking at the regulations set by local authorities.
You will need a license for a kick or motorized scooter in the state of Missouri. Missouri electric scooters can travel on bike paths, lanes and streets. If the speed can exceed 30 mph, then scooters are no longer motorized bicycles but motorcycles and the rules can change.
Scooters in Montana are also considered motorized bikes, which prohibits them from being operated on sidewalks and should follow the same rules.
Nebraska also does not outline specific regulations for e-scooters, but we suggest riders follow the traffic laws of the state. You will not need registration for kick scooters, but you cannot operate them on sidewalks.
Nevada electric scooters are for those 16 and above. The scooter should weigh less than 100 pounds and not go faster than 20 mph at maximum.
New Hampshire is another state that does not outline clear laws regarding electric scooters. If you intend to ride in this state, make sure you refer to the local laws.
New Jersey legalized electric scooters recently, but they require them to not exceed 19 mph to meet the “low-speed electric scooters” classification.
New Mexico electric scooter laws will vary by locality. Check the specific laws laid out by your city.
In New York, riders cannot operate e-scooters on the sidewalk or exceed a 30 mph limit. Those who choose to ride must be at least 16 years old and they must wear protective headgear if they are under 18.
North Carolina electric scooters are the same as vehicles, which means they require proper licenses and registrations.
North Dakota governments regulate electric scooters under identical laws as mopeds, which means riders need to wear a motorcycle helmet.
Much like many other states, Ohio has regulated electric scooters to not exceed 100 pounds or a max speed of 20 mph.
There is no sweeping state law for electric-powered scooters, so the legislation is left to each local government. Double-check with your local authorities before operating an electric scooter.
Oregon is another state without clearly defined laws, but e-scooters are generally considered mopeds. This means they cannot be ridden on sidewalks, exceed 15 mph, and riders need to be at least 16.
Riding scooters on public roads is illegal in the state of Pennsylvania.
If you live in Rhode Island, you will need to refer to city government laws that apply to riding e-scooters.
South Carolina is also a state that gives autonomy to each city to implement its own regulations and laws for e-scooters. There may be some cities, such as Charleston, which have deemed them illegal.
South Dakota is also a stricter state regarding riding electric-powered scooters. They generally follow moped laws, which means riders need the appropriate lights, brakes, mirror, and all the right registration and licensing.
In Tennessee, e-scooters are classified as e-bikes and must weigh less than 100 pounds and not operate at speeds faster than 20 mph. They generally cannot be on sidewalks and must possess front and rear lights or reflectors.
You will be able to ride your scooter on roads that have a max speed of 35 mph or less and have a motor power that does not go over 750W.
Utah e-scooters are classified as bikes, which means they can operate in a bike lane, and travel on roads with a 25 mph limit at speeds no more than 15 mph. If you’re under 15, supervision is required.
Riding on the sidewalk is allowed in Vermont in general, but the exact speed limit will vary from city to city.
The electric scooter laws in Virginia outline that highway travel is not allowed, and scooters need to be 100 pounds or less with a max speed of 20 mph and riders cannot be younger than 14.
Scooters cannot exceed 15 mph in the state of Washington, and reflectors must be present for night riding. Whether they are allowed on sidewalks is determined by local governments, but all riders must be 16 years old at the very least.
West Virginia recently passed a bill that regulates electric bicycles, and we believe similar laws will apply to e-scooters.
Wisconsin adopts similar requirements as passed in other states such as a 100-pound scooter weight limit and speeds no faster than 20 mph.
E-scooters in Wyoming should follow the identical laws as e-bikes and motorized skateboards and an electric skateboard.
What is the speed limit for electric scooters in most states?
The speed limit for electric scooters in most states is around 20 to 25 mph. Some local governments implement their own regulations so it’s always safest to double-check your city laws to be sure.
Can you cruise on sidewalks with electric scooters?
Yes, you can cruise on sidewalks with electric scooters, but not in some states and cities. Some states have statewide laws regarding riding on the sidewalk, while others leave it to local governments. Your best bet is to look up your city laws.
What is the minimum age requirement?
The minimum age requirement in most states is 16 years old. There are some states that legalize riding for teens as young as 14, but some require supervision. Most states also require riders younger than 18 to wear protective gear for safety.
There aren’t standard national scooter laws in the US, but there are state and local laws in place. Each state or city have varying regulations, so it’s best to double-check if your personal mobility device is street legal. We suggest wearing proactive gear and outfitting your scooter appropriately according to electric scooter laws by state.